Wattpad: Is it a Good Writing Site?

Back in 2012, I stumbled upon this site called Wattpad. It’s a place where authors can post their original and fictional stories to their heart’s content. Me, who already had like, 20 different writing accounts open on many different sites, decided to add Wattpad to the mix. I filled out my profile and got to work writing.

For the most part, Wattpad’s interface was easy to use, and I had no problem creating a story and uploading it. It also didn’t take me long to figure out that I’d have to do a little advertising to get my story out there. So I took to the “Share Your Story”(SYS) forum of the site and indulged in many “comment for comments” and “read for reads.” Though I can’t tell how many people actually read my story, it was still nice to gain some views.

Then I left for a little bit. When I came back, ohohoho boy.

Things had gone downhill.

My beloved SYS forum was gone! No longer could Wattpaddians create a thread about their story and ask for comments! No, if they wanted any feedback, they’d have to go to the “Improve Your Writing” forum. Not only that, but they’d have to go to the critique section of the forum.

Now let me tell you about Wattpad critiques: They’re usually not free (meaning you have to read their books as well–which is fine), and the critics are picky as hell. By picky, I mean if you have a Sci-fi, Historical, or LGBT book you want critiqued, you’re going to have a harder time finding someone who will look over that for you. Unfortunately for me, I usually had a book that fell nice and neatly into one of those genres. I will say it’s gotten a little better recently, but it’s still annoying to miss out on what could be helpful feedback.

Wattpad is primarily composed of teenage girls, so the stories that get the most attention are teen fiction/romance stories. They’re not even well-written either: they’re riddled with spelling errors, lack proper capitalization, and are all the same story about a bad boy being changed by a good girl.

That being said, there are good stories beneath all the filth; true hidden gems. Unfortunately, those hidden gems will barely see a thousand reads in comparison to a billionaire bad boy meets a shy good girl story. It’s a shame really.

So is Wattpad a good writing site? Well, if you’re not a romance or teen fiction writer, but you want to get noticed, this is probably not the best site for you. Try smaller writing websites like Critique Circle .

Regardless of my complaints, I still do write on the site from time to time, just not as often as I used to due to the new changes.

If you’re interested, you can find my stories here. 

2 thoughts on “Wattpad: Is it a Good Writing Site?

  1. Pingback: Wattpad: Why do the Popular Stories Mostly Suck? | Wading through the papers of time

  2. As I already commented on your other blog post, I highly agree with you! Wattpad is a writing site that has gone way, way downhill. I used to write there, and now I cringe every time I log into check a message or comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

